Did I mention I’m in an all girl punk rock band? BECAUSE I AM AND WE ARE AWESOME, FYI

DAMAGE OVER TIME. If you get the nerd reference, let’s be friends. I would shamelessly promote my band here (even more so than I already am) except we really don’t have any recordings online or anything to sell at this point, so frankly, there’s nothing else to share with you. So for now, I’m content to just write about how much fun it is, and how much I’m enjoying being a part of it.

I’ve probably mentioned a few time how OLD I am, so in the interest of full to partial disclosure, I’ll admit that I’m in my mid-30’s. (I’m still shocked by this, on a daily basis, admittedly.)

But the point is, I have been interested in music, indie rock, punk rock and the like, pretty much the entirety of my life, and it had always been a dream of mine to have my very own band. When I was a teenager, living at home with my parents, I took guitar and piano lessons. I remember getting my very first electric guitar and amp, and quietly rocking out by myself in the basement. I wrote roughly 300 songs (insanity), recording myself on CASSETTE TAPE (again, old). I still have those tapes somewhere, one day I’m going to dig them up and listen to how horrible my teenage lyrics are and then burn them in one of those cylindrical garbage cans that homeless men warm their hands over.

Over the years I’ve been in a variety of “bands” which loosely translates to me and my friends sitting around drinking and whatnot and recording ourselves being ridiculous with a music. The product of some of these endeavours have ranged from NO ONE WILL EVER HEAR THIS OUTSIDE THIS ROOM to that’s not so bad, actually. No matter what, it’s been fun.

And now I’m in an Actual Band, where we play Actual Instruments, and practice in an Actual Jam Space. We have played an Actual Gig, and have another coming up! The thought of which fills me with great, sweaty terror. It’s so great, and I’m enjoying every minute of it. Yeah, I’m a bit older, and perhaps, not as cool as I once was. But I’m not suffering any delusions about becoming a rock star (ok, maybe only slight delusions) at this point in my life, I’m just enjoying doing something that gives me great joy. It’s actually incredibly therapeutic to get together with the ladies, turn up the volume REEEEEALLLLYYY loud, and just rock out. It doesn’t hurt that most of the stuff we play is loud, and screamy (my preferred genre).

Overall, point being, you’re never too old to do something you love. And you’re never too old to get try something that you’ve always wanted to do! I waited so long to finally get down to it and start a real band, and I wish I’d done it earlier, not because I never realized how insanely fun it would be, but because like a lot of things in life, you put it off and put it off and make excuses, and then suddenly 10 years have gone by, 20 years have gone by, and suddenly you feel like maybe it’s time to just suck it up and take the leap. My advice? Go start a punk band RIGHT MEOW. Or whatever it is that you’ve always wanted to do. GO DO IT NOW! You’ll love it more than you even realize!

Leave a Reply

